Announcing 2017 Emerald Racing Club!

archie-photo

Archie Graham returns to Ross barn, February 2, 2017

Emerald Racing Club Returns

For the fourth consecutive year Emerald Downs will have a racing club composed of 200 (maximum) Thoroughbred enthusiasts.

Registration for the 2017 Emerald Racing Club began Thursday and please note first-time club members have priority until February 15.

Cost remains only $500, with Larry and Sharon Ross and Mike Puhich our trainers for 2017. Simply complete the attached registration form below and you’re on board for 2017!

We can’t wait to get started and look forward to seeing everyone at the races!

Founded in 2014, Emerald Racing Club has compiled a 7-4-3 record in 24 starts including two wins last season by Archie Graham.

Here are just some of the benefits of becoming a member:

• Ownership in Thoroughbreds competing at Emerald Downs. Our 2017 season runs April 8 through September 17.

• Official Owner License issued by the Washington Horse Racing Commission ($108 value)

• Free admission for the entire season ($490 value)

• Owner Parking Pass ($490 value)

• Access to the restricted backstretch area to watch your racehorse train

• Paddock access on race day

• Guest passes to bring your friends and show off your racehorse!

• No hidden costs, no additional training fees or bills

Here is the official registration form:

2017 Emerald Racing Club Registration

Pictured: Archie Graham won two races for Emerald Racing Club in 2017 and is back with Larry and Sharon Ross for the 2017 season. Now owned by Left Coast Thoroughbreds, the 5-year-old gelding’s charming personality and considerable racing talent made Archie a big hit with ERC.

 

20 thoughts on “Announcing 2017 Emerald Racing Club!

  1. We are in again if there is space….i actually have not cashed the check from last year so I will just apply it if that is ok?

    Boris Castellanos & Grace Castellanos
    Allegra Properties
    (206)812-7812

    • Hi Boris, Either way you want to do it is fine. Please note that first-timers have priority through February 15. I’ll remind everyone at 12:01 a.m., Thursday, February 16!

  2. Haha, I haven’t cashed my check yet either, don’t get to the bank very often. I’m sending in my registration but I’ll pay by credit card. Excited for the season to start again!

  3. “First time members have priority until Feb.15.” Is that new? I recall that the purpose of the club is to teach & bring new people into the world of thoroughbred racing so it makes sense but I don’t remember that from last year.

  4. Please let me know if you need anything else – looking forward to another fun season!

    Dave

    Sent from Outlook

    ________________________________

  5. I like the idea of giving new people a chance to learn about owning a race horse. I was planning on letting Vince know that I would buy in again, after new members if the club didn’t fill up.

    Would there be any interest in some of the old members getting together and claiming a Horse? If so, maybe Vince could get us in contact with each other.

    What I would really like to do is get a broodmare and breed one. This is a long term project and cost a lot more. When I was looking at breeding my mare, I calculated it would cost round $25,000 to get it to the track. It’s a lot riskier, you never know how the foal is going to come out, or if it even makes it to the track. Any Interest?

    • Hi Wayne, I would be very happy to introduce you to some good people who could help with your proposed endeavor. Also, I’m pretty sure there’ll be room for former club members again in 2017. I’ll remind you to register back up on February 16.

      • Wayne, didn’t someone try to start such a group last year, using the ERC model. I know I had my name in but they didn’t get enough interest so it was cancelled. Maybe it was Blue Ribbon Farm? The idea was to look at racing from the other end of the process, birth to first start. As I recall, the club membership was about the same as ERC. I’ll see if I squirreled away any of the details.

      • Hi Debra,

        It was the Washington Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners Association (WTBOA). They were setting up a program similar to the ERC, except they were going to buy and breed a brood mare and then sale it at the yearly sale. The foal were be kept at the breeding farm until the sale, the mare would be sold after the foaling.
        What I want to do is breed and raise the foal at my farm and race it. I enjoy having foals around. They are a lot of fun to raise, but like any horse, Lots of work and expensive to raise. My last mare named ‘What A Talent’ out of Julia Rose(Dam of Noosa Beach, Music of My Soul and Noosito) by He’s Tops was lined up to breed to Harbor The Gold when she coliced and died with a $12,000 Vet bill. Did I mention that horses are expensive? When I was going to breed her, I budgeted $20,000 to $25,000 to get here to the track. I do have my eye open if the right mare comes around and if I find one maybe I’ll let the club know if there anyone interested

  6. I have a credit from last year (being a part-owner with ERC last year). How will that be handled?

    ________________________________

  7. Hi there Vince,

    I hope that you are well! The past two years with Sophia I was able to call in with my credit card information to register for ERC – would I possibly be able to do the same with you or someone on the team? I am not comfortable faxing or emailing my credit card info.

    Let me know your thoughts and thanks so much for your time;) Kristie Polito 323.304.3970

  8. Hi there,

    Can I pick my license up later today, my credit card was run. I happen to be by the track this afternoon.

    Thanks much, Virginia (Ginny) Miller

  9. Hi Ginny, Yes, the hours are 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Wednesday thru Saturday. The WHRC has a current file people who have paid. So come on down!

Leave a Reply

