Archie Graham Finishes 2nd With Late Rally

_10V0459

Archie Graham turned in another solid effort Sunday at Emerald Downs, finishing second in the seventh race and earning $2,300 for his efforts. He’s Cagey, our nemesis all season, led gate-to-wire for a a 6 3/4-length victory in a very respectable 1:43.20 for 1 1/16 miles.

Although he didn’t get the victory, Archie Graham rallied from last and gamely edged Angel de Amour for second place money. So in seven starts for Emerald Racing Club, Archie Graham has two wins, one second,four thirds and $18,559 in purse earnings.And you’ve heard me say it all season, but this particular group of $10,000 claimers is as tough as I’ve seen at Emerald Downs.

Time for my little editorial on Archie Graham:

Archie has performed steadily all season for Emerald Racing Club. He’s a professional racehorse, giving us everything he had in seven starts while maintaining fitness and enthusiasm throughout. I know Larry and Sharon Ross have grown quite fond of Archie, ditto for regular rider Leslie Mawing, and me too.

What’s more, Archie Graham has been a delight at the barn, kind and affectionate with his many visitors and fans, and enthusiastic in his training. In short, he’s been a lot of fun.

Way to go, Archie!


We also learned Sunday that Diamonds Dena is a go for Friday night. She runs in Race 5 (about 8:30 p.m.) for $10,000 claiming older fillies and mares at one mile. Javier Matias is the rider. More on that race later in the week.

Enjoy Labor Day everybody!

Vince

 

 

5 thoughts on “Archie Graham Finishes 2nd With Late Rally

  1. I agree with your editorial completely Vince. Archie was a perfect choice for the club, my wife & I had great fun with barn visits. His good natured personality to go with his well behaved, all business paddock & race day approach give the impression that likes what he does. I’m sure Sharon would tell us that Archie loves his gallops & workouts in the morning. And the races he ran, all were very competitive & exciting to the end. Thank you Archie Graham & everybody else who made this season successful for ERC.

  2. I was going to post a comment about Archie’s season as our horse, but Vince and Jeff said it all. I look forward to seeing Dena run this Friday, and finding out what’s next for our stars as the season comes to an end. A big thanks to Archie’s team, his trainer, grooms, and rider!

  3. Following up on Lauren’s thought: What happens with Archie and Dena now that the Club’s racing season is coming to a close?

  4. I agree with your editorial. I truly hope that somehow the Emerald Racing Club horses know that we do love them and genuinely care about them. Even though we can only spend a short time with them and only their head sticking out of a stall; that has meant so much to me and has brought me a lot of joy!

  5. Anyone know what is going on with the end of season $ disbursement? I visited Archie yesterday at the Ross Farm and he looks fantastic.

Leave a comment